Let’s play a game! Life hacks – sea vacation

The sea. Everyone dreams about it. We listen to “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” imagining salty waves and silk sand, bright sun and blue sky. Yes, we all do such things. Why? Because the image of the sea is related to relax, vacation, friends, family, lover, cocktails, hobbies, … Whatever it is related to, it is something pleasant.

IMG_0229

I grew up on the seaside in my grandparents’ cottage. That’s why the image of the sea is related to something much more than just fun, happiness etc. It’s a part of my life. I always thought of the sea as of my friend, someone I can trust. It taught me its rules and I respected them.

What have I learnt? It’s always better to somehow prepare for your sea visit. The sea is gentle and calm most of the time, but sometime it changes to somewhat tricky that wants you to play a game. And if you’re prepared to it, you’ll win.

Know your neighbourhood

560346515

Find out some information about the creatures that live in the sea you’re going to. Why? You may find out that the sea bottom is strewn with urchins and you’ll need to buy special rubber boots for swimming. Or it could be jellyfish that comes from the deep in early August and you may want to change the dates of your vacation.

Treat the jellyfish sting

516563129

Speaking of jellyfish, what is the most unpleasant experience with this creatures that comes to your mind? Yes, the sting. It hurts so much! These little bastards are invisible in the water, so it’s practically impossible to see them while you’re swimming. I’m an expert on jellyfish stings, since I always meet these creatures while swimming under the water, so they “kiss” me right on my face. It’s normal for me to have a beautiful red tattoo on my cheeks, nose or forehead. Why not…

Now, I hope I’ve scared you enough, so you’ll remember what to do when this invisible sea inhabitant decides to sting you:

1. Don’t panic. it only seems like you’ll die because of this pain. Breathe and get out from the water. Don’t touch the sting!

2. Pour vinegar on the sting, it will reduce the pain. Then leave the vinegar on the sting for about a minute. If you don’t have vinegar with you (I can’t imagine normal people carrying the vinegar in their bag while going to the beach), use sea water instead.

Find out, if you have an allergy. How? If you’re allergic to jellyfish poison, your breath and/or heart bit will be irregular. In this case, you need to find a doctor.

3. Apply ice on the sting. It will make you feel much more better.

4. When you got home, use Panthenol or similar medicine to treat the sting. Apply the medicine several times a day.

Avoid getting into a rip current

Have you heard about these rips? They’re widely known as ocean currents that could be found near the beaches. The interesting fact about this kind of current is that it comes from the shore! And you know what? These rips could be found in the sea too! Are you excited?

These rips could be really dangerous, so it’s important to know how does the rip look like and how to act if you’re in it.

If you’re near the ocean, it’s pretty obvious where the rips are. You could find plenty examples of rip currents on Google images.  The real fun begins if you’re on the beachside, since it’s really hard to see the rip. However, it’s pretty easy to feel it, but by the time you feel it’ it’s too late. When you’re in the deep water, trying to swim towards the shore and nothing happens (you’re still at the same place), you’re in the rip current. Great! Now we know how to identify it. What to do next?

Don’t panic! It’s all right. Breathe normally. Turn to the side and begin to swim sideways the bank. The rip could be 30-40 metres wide, but sooner or later you’ll get out of it. As soon as you’ll feel that nothing is pushing you backwards, you’re safe.

IMG_0525

As I said before, the sea has its own rules. And the rule Number 1 is: DON’T PANIC! Whatever happens, stay calm. And don’t forget to take vinegar with you next time you go to the beach 😉

Enjoy your vacation! 🙂

About tanikuka

I was born in Russia, then moved to Prague and now study in London. I write about travelling, international life, interesting stories happened to me and cities I've been to.
This entry was posted in Summer, Tips, Travel Tips, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment